• Welcome to BookAndReader!

We LOVE books and hope you'll join us in sharing your favorites and experiences along with your love of reading with our community. Registering for our site is free and easy, just CLICK HERE!

Already a member and forgot your password? Click here.

A night on the island

bcross101

PLEASE know that i'm an extremely new writer. this is just something i wrote yesterday. one of my first little stories or whatever. critisize this as much as possible, and for my learning and gain of knowledge. please! i need to learn!

here it is:

We had only been on the island for a couple minutes before our leader told us that we had to make our own sleeping area out of “natural” materials. We, a group of pre-mature boys on a camping trip were fine with the idea until our leader told us that we had to do it on our own, without his help.
There were about 5 of the 10 boys that were supposed to do this, but because of our extreme desire to use sharp tools without any adult supervision, we all helped.
Some of us went looking for dead trees around the area, but most of us decided to cut whatever was sticking out of the sandy soil.
The island was small, maybe a wile wide, and it was brutally hot working in the sun, even a half an hour or so.
I went over to Will, who was using his dad’s machete and hacking away at a small oak tree.
“ Hey Will, come over here and help me cut down this one right here.” I said to him.
“ Woah buddy! Do I look like your mother or something? Go chop it down yourself. I’m working on my own right here.
I laughed, recognizing the comical tone in his voice, and made my way through some branches to the tree I had picked out.
A couple hours later, we had succeeded in clearing out our entire camp sight of any tree that we could manage to cut down. As soon as we made our big sleeping area, we had some dinner, and went to bed.
“ Boys! Get out of here right now!”, a man yelled at us. We recognized it as our leader.